The Best Readers in Cleveland County Square off at Annual Battle of the Books Competition


If you think bookworms are not competitive, think again.  And then, think some more if you want to stand a chance against them when it comes to reading comprehension and detail memory recall.

As Dr. Seuss we concluded, the competition season commenced as teams from around the county came together to test their knowledge by answering in-depth reading comprehension questions from the designated book list.  This year’s winners are as follows.

Overall K-4 School Winners

  • 1st Place- Grover Elementary

  • 2nd Place-Marion Elementary

  • 3rd Place-North Elementary

Overall K-5 School Winners

  • 1st Place: Kings Mountain Intermediate

  • 2nd Place: Washington Elementary

  • 3rd Place: Shelby Intermediate

Dr. Pace Award

Dr. Ruth Pace has been working with Battle of the Books in Cleveland County since it began at the Middle School level in 1992. She has helped coach teams, moderated numerous local and regional competitions, and written hundreds of practice questions for every book on the middle and elementary school list each year.

The Dr. Pace Award is given in honor of Dr. Ruth Pace to the student on each team who is considered, by peers, to be most knowledgeable regarding all of the books.

Dr. Pace Award Winners:

  • Bethware Elementary: Ariel Inthisarath

  • Boiling Springs Elementary: Grady Nodine

  • Casar Elementary: Adam Chaney

  • East Elementary: Dominic Paysour

  • Fallston Elementary: Andrew Yarboro

  • Graham Elementary: Rebecca Diaz

  • Grover Elementary: Emma Whitener

  • James Love Elementary: Kenadi Homesley

  • Jefferson Elementary: Braylon Bridges

  • Kings Mountain Intermediate: Ruby Osborne

  • Marion Elementary: Tyler Padgett

  • North Elementary: Lucas Donovan

  • Shelby Intermediate: Gaby Lopez

  • Springmore Elementary: Yoselin Espinosa-Paz

  • Township Three Elementary: Gage Wigginton

  • Union Elementary: Samara Jones

  • Washington Elementary: Kailyn Daniels

  • West Elementary: Amelia Pruitt

Greg Shull